We did not have a chance in 2.1 due for release at some point within a month or so to add fully configurable channel numbers. So instead we have added at least the ability to lock channel lineups at a low level so that Roomie doesn’t try to overwrite manual changes like the last few messages have discussed. This post contains instructions on how to instruct 2.1 to lock the guide lineup so that you may make manual channel lineup changes directly to the RoomieChannels file. These instructions work only with Roomie 2.1 and assume some level of familiarity with the same Roomie customization procedures described in the Roomie DDK.
In order to lock a guide, a special key/value pair must be added to the RoomieChannels.plist configuration file as follows:
- Locate the guide to modify under Root -> roomieChannels -> guides. You will see a list of guide UUIDs here.
- The guide may be identified by opening each UUID dictionary and examining the "name" string value. This is the value entered when the guide was created (it also shows up when selecting the "Opens Guide" property for an activity within Roomie).
- Under the UUID -> data dictionary add a new key called "locked" (without quotes) of type Boolean and set the value to YES.
When complete, the guide should look similar to the following (the newly created key/value pair is highlighted in blue, note that is indented, indicating its inclusion in the “data” dictionary):
To unlock a guide, simply reverse the steps and remove the “locked” key from the data dictionary. Once this is done the guide will behave as it did before being locked.
A few notes about locking:
Guide creation is not affected in any way. All new guides will continue be created as unlocked.
There is no interface inside Roomie for locking or unlocking a guide. This requires modifying the RoomieChannels.plist configuration file per above.
In addition to preventing automatic channel validation from occurring, locked guides are not able to be edited inside Roomie (either through the tucked edit button in the guide view or from the guide editor in settings) as either operation could cause any manual changes to be lost.
Selecting the guide as the “Opens Guide” property of an activity and deletion of the guide are both still permitted.