Home automation, lighting, PC, SmartThings, Nests and HTD MC

I’m just finishing remodeling my house and I’m totally new to home automation, Roomie and all of this and I’m looking for some pointers as to how to build my system. I want to:

• Control LED dimmable lights, some of which would be linked to motion sensors and IFTT-type triggers e.g. if the upstairs hallway motion sensor detects motion at night then turn on the hall lights

• Control a security system - I’m looking at the SmartThings security system as I like the way it’s modular and easily expandable

• Control my Nest thermostats

• Control my Windows 8 media center and distribute audio to 6 zones in the house, being able to adjust volume independently

I want to be able to control all this through my iPad and iPhones. I have a few questions:

• Do I need a Mac to control the SmartThings hub through Roomie? From what I’ve read here the ST hub is controlled through Roomie Agent which is a Mac program - is this correct? Are there any other ways I can control the ST hub through the Roomie app on my iPad/iPhones?

• I think some RF lighting systems will connect directly to Roomie without the need for a separate lighting system hub. Is that correct? If so, can you also integrate motion and other sensors with IFTT-style triggers via Roomie like I described above? If I can’t connect the SmartThings hub to Roomie then I might have to use Roomie as the brain to control my triggers and outputs.

• I’ve run speaker cable to each of my 6 audio zones in the house so I’m looking at the HTD MCA-66 multi-zone controller/amp to distribute audio from my Windows 8 media center PC and the TV around the house. The MCA-66 is listed in the Roomie compatibility list, but how does it talk to the Roomie app? I’m guessing I connect the amp to my Windows 8 media center via RS232 and somehow connect my cable box/TV to the amp to get TV audio, but how does the Roomie app talk to the amp?