Pioneer 9G Kuro Plasma Control via RS232

I was able to successfully control my Pioneer PDP-5020FD with the IP2SL. I used a straight through cable, set the Baud rate to 9600 in the serial settings & selected Pioneer TV PRO-150FD. This set up should work for any 8G or 9G plasma with a RS232 port. I was also able to control my PRO-141FD via IP by manually entering the IP address, selecting Port# 4201 & selecting Pioneer TV PRO-141FD. This setup should work for any 9G monitor (PRO-141FD, PRO-101FD, KRP-500M & KRP-600M. I hope this information will help other Pioneer Kuro owners control their display via Serial or IP control.

Thanks for posting this. Following your lead I was able to set up my Pioneer PRO-101FD for IP control.

I’m far from an IP expert, so I thought I might add a few setup details that I encountered, in case it helps somebody …

After connecting your Pioneer 141FD or 101FD to your router via ethernet, go to the Pioneer’s Control Setup menu and set IP Control to Enable and DHCP to On. Then click on IP Address – when you add your Pioneer as a new device within Roomie (following the instructions in the previous post) that’s the IP address to use.

Note that in my case I had to back out of the Control Setup menu and go back in before I could see a valid IP address (at first it was straight zeroes). Also, the Pioneer’s IP address has extra zeroes compared to the IP addresses for my other devices in Roomie (010.000.001.013 in my case). I don’t know if that matters but I entered the number in Roomie exactly as it shows in the Pioneer, and it works fine.

BTW, I see that Roomie has updated their IP Compatibility web page to include the previously unlisted Pioneer PRO-141FD and PRO-101FD. Cool :slight_smile: