Plex on Multiple Devices

Hi,

I’m a noob trying the base Roomie before going whole hog and purchasing the entire Roomie suite plus several iTachs.

Right now I’m trying to configure Roomie to work a Pioneer VSX-60 receiver and a Plex media server (PMS). I’m a bit confused because the VSX-60 can see the PMS and control it for music using either a TV and the standard remote or Pioneer’s iControlAV app. The PMS can make itself known either through DLNA or through a Plex client. I’m not sure which method the receiver uses.

So my question is, when I set Plex as the second device on my Roomie, exactly what is Roomie trying to do? Is it accessing the PMS through my receiver, through DLNA, or as a Plex client in its own right? And, no matter how Roomie accesses the PMS, how can I integrate control of the receiver with control of Plex?

If you add a Plex client through the Auto-Discovery process in Roomie, Roomie is talking directly to Plex. The connection between Roomie and a receiver and Roomie and your Plex have nothing intrinsically to do with one another.

Thanks. That clears that up.

But if I’m accessing the PMS via Roomie, how do I tell it where to play the selection? My receiver, TV, iPad, and even Blu-Ray can all access Plex by themselves. Now that Roomie’s doing it, how do I get it to play music through the receiver, videos on the TV (with sound EITHER through the receiver or TV), and pictures on the TV?

(Bear in mind that I’m still using the base version of Roomie, so probably I can only use Plex with either the receiver or the TV but not both.)

Those are details that are outside of Roomie. How to control Plex to play something or how to setup your receiver to play from your Plex are specific to your system setup and don’t relate to the method by which Plex or your receiver are controlled.

I understand your point, but I’m still confused.