Samsung QN55 - Input Selection

I’m new to Roomie Remote and love it. In the past, I’ve used a Pronto and iRule to control my Home Theater system. I recently purchased a Samsung QN55 Smart TV and am having difficulties getting it to switch to specific inputs.

I’m able to power on the TV via the “Wake on Lan” function. Under “Expert Settings” I’m able to control the volume with Roomie, so I know the app is talking with the TV.

The TV is connected to a TiVo, Roku, and Kodi Media PC (HDMI1,HDMI2, & HDMI3 respectively).

From Roomie, when I select INPUT HDMI1, INPUT HDMI1, or INPUT HDMI 3, nothing happens. When I select INPUT HDMI, or SOURCE, I move from one source to the next. So far, I’m unable to get to a desire input source with a single command.

When using the SmartThings app, I’m able to see and select the respective INPUT. As this uses Bluetooth to connect to my TV, it’s not a solution imho.

I have a iTach IP2IR device in anther room and can augment this room with one if necessary, however I would prefer to use IP commands if possible.

For a “SmartTV”, I would have thought that this functionality was available. I did notice some posts from 2012, but was hoping that the technology would support a more elegant solution over the past 8+ years.

Suggestions appreciated!

Thanks in Advance…

QN55 is not a complete model number so I can’t be sure what you have. But at a high level, Samsung definitively differentiates control features across their lines and model years. Not providing explicit input selection certainly was one such thing observed in past years. For many model years, most models of Samsung do now support direct input selection via IP control.

As an aside, we do also support control of Samsung TVs via our Smartthings integration. You can therefore possibly use the same technique that worked for you from within Roomie. There are numerous ways to control Samsung TVs depending on the year/model/etc. Serial is a very good one if your model supports it.