Phillips Hue

The Apple store is now selling Phillips Hue lighting, do you have plans to support this? I think this product has a tremendous potential and would a natural with Roomie remote.

I’m no programmer, but it could be fairly easy to implement for someone who is. The protocol has already been reverse engineered.

Info HERE: rsmck.co.uk/hue

Also, if you are using Indigo for home automation, a plugin has been created for that already from the above reverse engineering efforts.

perceptiveautomation.com/wik … :wish_list

I’d be interested to have direct control of Hue via Roomie.

Just bought hue and its great. Roomie support would be awesome…

No need for reverse engineering. They are open source and will be releasing an SDK in the very near term. Integration in Roomie should be quite possible.

Yes, but the official SDK isn’t slated to come out until 2013, Most geeks like me are fairly impatient.

I’m out of town on business but once I get back I’m going to try to integrate the indigo plugin to see if I can control them from home automation server. Then I can at least control it with my Harmony remote as I have in IR Receiver input to the automation controller.

I suspect Roomie support will come soon as the ZigBee controller that ships with the Hue is fairly simple to send commands to via HTML/JSON. At least, that’s what the people smarter than I are saying.

Understand about the impatience. Let us know how it goes. Philips is being smart with this by allowing integration and development, just makes sense… why spend money developing apps and integration when the user community is so enabled these days and impatient! :slight_smile:

This product is brand new on the market , but would be great to have control over this with Roomie…

That would be an awesome 1.7 “gift” for Christmas :slight_smile: